Location: Hien Lam Pavilion (Pavilion of
the Glorious Coming) is situated in the center of the Dynastic Temple’s
courtyard, southwest of the Hue Citadel.
Characteristics: Built in 1824 by Emperor Minh Mang, at the same time as
the Dynastic Temple, Hien Lam Pavilion consists of three stories.
The pavilion stands on a 21m by 13m square-shaped foundation. The area amounted
to 300m² including the roof overhang. In front, on the stairs (9 steps each)
joining the court, each flight is divided by two slithering dragon designs into
three passages, the middle one being exclusively reserved for the Emperor. The
ground floor is paved with Bat Trang bricks. It has three compartments and two
bays surrounded with plastered brick walls. These are ventilated by windows
similar in shape and decorated with enameled open-work bricks. The three
compartments are left open and garnished with ornamental wooden banisters.
Systems of rafters and panels are exquisitely engraved with floral designs. Hien
Lam Pavilion can be considered as a memorial to those who had devoted their
lives to the establishment of the Nguyen Dynasty. The Emperors Nguyen are
honored in the Dynastic Temple while meritorious mandarins are honored in the
Left and Right Houses on either side of the Hien Lam Pavilion. Because of the
holiness of the Pavilion, the Emperors Nguyen had decreed that no other
construction built in the Citadel should be higher.