Location: The school was built on the site
of a former squadron headquarter - a royal navy headquarters (1806 or the 5th
year of Gia Long's Reign).
Characteristics: Hue National School was founded pursuant to the royal
decree dated September 17, 1896 (the 8th year of Thanh Thai Reign) and the
decree on November 18, 1896 of the French Resident-Superior in Indochina.
Hue National School was founded in order to train those who would serve the
feudal colonial government, so in the study curricula French was the main
subject. The conditions of the students accepted by Hue National School:
- The sons of the King's relatives.
- The sons of royal families.
- The mandarinsï¿½ sons.
- The students of Thanh Nhon School and Quoc Tu Giam School.
In 1915, when the decree annulling Emperor ancient exam in the province and the
ancient exam of the capital in the North was issued, Hue National School was
rebuilt. The rows of thatch roofed apartments were torn down and replaced by two
rows of buildings, the walls made of brick, the roof covered with tiles. It was
solid, and comfortable according to the western European architecture. Most of
the architectures are still extant. In 1932, the school opened many specialized
classes and its name was changed into Khai Dinh Lycee. During the resistance
against French Colonialists on December 19, 1946, the school was moved into two
places and followed the resistance:
- One branch: the 1st stage with the name "Binh Tri Thien School" was situated
in Huong Khe, Ha Tinh Province.
- The branch of 2nd stage school with the name "Huynh Thuc Khang School" was
situated in Duc Tho, Ha Tinh Province. The branch returned to Hue after ten
years of interruption, and was occupied by colonialists as a barrack on April
29th, 1955, the school was restored and has resumed normal operation.