Location: Pavilion of Edicts is situated
right in front of the Flag -Tower and by the National Highway No.1A which
crosses Hue City.
Characteristic: It is a delicate pavilion with a south view. In front of
the Pavilion is a large court leading to the Nghinh Luong Pavilion (Pavilion for
Fresh Air) on the Perfume River bank.
There had once been a tiger - elephant duel on the pavilion grounds in 1829 to
entertain Emperor Minh Mang. In his fortieth and fiftieth birthday
anniversaries, many entertainments were also held there. These practices were
maintained by Emperors Thieu Tri and Tu Duc in their birthday anniversaries.
Emperor Thieu Tri listed the Perfume River and the Pavilion of Edicts among 20
most beautiful sights of the capital city of Hue. It was him who ordered in 1843
the construction of a stele house on the right of the pavilion for engraving his
poem "Morning Boating on the Perfume River". It is the building where Emperor's
edicts and lists of successful candidates of Thi Hoi (National Examination) and
Thi Dinh (Court Examinations) were publicized. Though built early in Emperor Gia
Long's reign (1819), it was first decided by Emperor Minh Mang to be the site to
publicly display his important edicts. After having been announced at the Throne
Palace or the Ngo Mon, the edict was put in a canopied palanquin and carried by
soldiers to the pavilion. On that occasion, the Thua Thien Province mandarins
and thousands of local elders crowded to pay homage to the edict. Since 1821,
after the Proclamation Ceremony, lists of successful candidates were posted
there. In order to enhance the significance, two stone steles were erected on
both sides of the pavilion, inscribed with Chinese characters meaning "Tilt Your
Hats and Dismount" reminding passers-by to tilt their hats and get off their
horses when passing this monument. The pavilion was destroyed by a typhoon in
1904 and restored later by Emperor Thanh Thai.