Location: The Hai Chau Communal House is
located in Phan Chu Trinh Street, Hai Chau 1 Ward, Hai Chau District, Danang
Characteristic: Hai Chau Communal House was recognized as a national
historic relic by Ministry of Culture and Information on the 12th July 2001.
In front of it there is a big lake with a rock work and a 100-year-old Bodhi
tree. On the three-door temple gate there are Chinese words ï¿½Hai Chau Chanh
Xaï¿½ (Hai Chau region). In the region there are Hai Chau Temple, an ancestor
worshipping house, two temples of godfather in the center. The temple on the
left side is of Nguyen Van clan, and one on the right is Kinh An Tu which has 42
ancestral tablets worshipping 42 clans of Tinh Gia District, Thanh Hoa Province.
They all followed King Le Thanh Tong to go to the South in the year of Tan Mao
(1471). Then the king established Han Giang hamlet (previously Quang Nam,
currently Danang) and they gathered in Hai Chau Village, laid foundation and
contributed to build Danang city. In Hai Chau Communal Houseï¿½s steeple, there
is a bronze bell and some Chinese words on it. A temporarily translation is
ï¿½In the 5th year of Minh Mangï¿½s reign (1842), the pagoda was restored. In
1825, the king bestowed to call the pagoda Phuoc Hai by his royal decree. In the
13th year of Minh Mangï¿½s reign (1832), the Hai Chau Village built the bell on
a good dayï¿½. According to history researchers, Hai Chau Communal House was
Phuoc Hai pagoda where Lord Nguyen Phuc Chu on his Quang Nam oriented journey
paid a visit and stayed for relaxation in the year of Ky Hoi (1719). Local
people set up an altar worshipping him at the pagoda.