Location: Nai Nam Communal House is located
in Nam Son Block, Hoa Cuong Ward, Hai Chau District, Danang City.
Characteristic: It was built in the year of At Ty (1905) to worship the
village tutelary god of security and justice, the local gods of the earth and
the village ancestors.
Nai Nam Communal House reflects much of the Nguyen Dynasty culture with a
panties roof, brick walls, two dragons flanking a moon, a well-matched couple of
the Phoenix and Rheinart’s pheasant and bats carrying peaches in their mouths,
all of which were formed with shards of pottery catching the eyes of visitors.
The interior is divided into three sections with two lean-tos. The front one is
11.7m long and 7.9m wide, and the rear one 3.9m wide and 4.1m long. There are 24
jack tree wood pillars in four rows, each pillar being from 2.5 to 4.1m high.
The structure of the rafters is “Chong ruong - Gia thu” (Pillars with supporting
base - Beams supported by pillars leaning against the wall). The gable is
skillfully and ingeniously carved by talented craftsmen from Kim Bong (Hoian)
with the motifs a carp changing to a dragon and the eight gods with ornamental
floral designs. In the old days there used to be annual ceremonies to pray for
blessings and security at the full moon of the second lunar month and on Lunar
New Year’s Eve. During the resistance wars against the French and the Americans
the village communal house was used as an underground base which witnessed the
admission of new members to the Communist Party, the preparation of the
political army forces for attacks on the city in 1950, 1951, 1960 and 1975, as
well as the sacrifice of numerous able members for the revolutionary cause. Nai
Nam Communal House, with its value of fine art and architecture is well-known as
an extant, typical village communal house. Nai Nam Communal House was recognized
as a national relic by Ministry of Culture and Information on 4th January 1999.