Location: Tu Quang Pagoda is located on the
slopes of Da Trang Mountain in An Dan Commune, Tuy An District, 20km north of
Tuy Hoa City, Phu Yen Povince.
Characteristic: Tu Quang Pagoda (also Da Trang Pagoda) was built in 1797,
under King Quang Toan of the Tay Son Dynasty. It is one of the most well-known
pagodas in Phu Yen Province.
Founded by Buddhist monk Huy Phap Chuyen of the Lam Te faction, the pagoda is
currently run by the tenth generation of Lam Te Buddhist monks.
Facing the Cai River, it stands on an area approximately 100m high, which was
once the capital of Phu Yen Province in the 17th century. There is a treacherous
road paved with stepping-stones leading to the gate of the pagoda. The pagoda
was honored by the emperor in 1889, and burnt to a cinder in 1929. It was then
rebuilt with funds raised by numerous Buddhists from provinces throughout
central Vietnam. In 1988, the sanctum of the Da Trang Pagoda was restored.
Behind the sanctum is a tower yard and a worshipping house for ancestors. The
towers are carved with ornamental images, including the four sacred animals
(dragon, unicorn, turtle, and phoenix). Surrounding the pagoda is an ancient
green garden of mango trees. The Da Trang mango is a special product of Phu Yen
known for its sweet smell and delicious taste.